Chose the Wrong Guy, Gave Him the Wrong Finger – by Beth Harbison

Chose the Wrong Guy, Gave Him the Wrong Finger
By: Beth Harbison
Published date: July 9, 2013

Overall Rating: 3 out of 5
Cheeseball rating: 4 out of 5.

I wanted to like this book more because it was really well written. I can tell that I’d probably like some of her other books better, but the main character in this one was just a little difficult to like due to all the whining. I did listen to this on audiobook, so it could be that the narrator’s voice didn’t help matters, but the characterization of Quinn was pretty shallow regardless.

So Quinn finds out minutes before her wedding that her groom-to-be, Burke, cheated on her! And guess who told her, his hot older brother, Frank! An event of this proportion is definitely cause for some subsequent soul-searching, ice cream bingeing, and snort sobbing. That said, Quinn basically does, like, a decade of this, and she never really gets over Burke Morrison. Even though both brothers live within an hour of the hometown she still lives in, they never see each other, which I find improbable in itself. I’m in my hometown for only a couple of days a year, and in one trip to the grocery store I see everyone I ever knew in one fell swoop. However, I was willing to forgive all that because, I mean, it *is* fiction, after all.

After the non-wedding, she and Frank drive to Vegas for…one night? Also, ridiculous, just for the record, but they have some hot sex there, apparently. And then no one ever talks again, like I said, until ten years later when Burke and Frank come back to town because their grandmother is on the brink of marrying a modern day dandy who may be a gold-digger. She has some meaningful encounters with both men, and Burke gets the chance to explain that, basically, he cheated on her because he’d never dated anyone else and they were only twenty-one, and yeah, dudes, that’s just too young to get married. I forgive Burke, but I generally find him uninteresting. There are some funny scenes where Quinn spies on him with her gay BFF, and kind of gets caught, though.

I wanted her to end up with Frank the entire time because he was such an adult, and just subtly thoughtful in ways that women probably don’t appreciate until they’re older. For instance, his propensity to be considerate in a conversation when someone is clearly struggling, or provide unqualified support without keeping score are all traits I never cared about before. Quinn does end up choosing Frank, and I understand it’s because she’s finally able to let go of Burke, but I wish we’d gotten more of Frank, and seen more of Quinn growing up.

I don’t need chicks to physically kick ass or swear a lot or be outright bitches in the name of feminism or what have you, but it would have been nice to see Quinn be stronger because a girl doesn’t sit around for ten years waiting for answers, she goes out and finds them. That said, I’d recommend this book for anyone looking for a light-hearted chick lit read, and I’m hopeful that a good writer like this has a better heroine in store.

Leave a Reply

