Signed, Sealed, Delivered – by Sandy James

Signed, Sealed, Delivered (The Ladies Who Lunch)
By: Sandy James
Published date: July 1, 2014
 
Overall Rating: 2 out of 5
Cheeseball rating: 4 out of 5.
How hot is it: Who cares.
Hero: Connor Ryan
Heroine: Juliana Kelley

I didn’t finish this book. I just like my life too much to do it. I thought to myself as I put it down, I can’t be the only person who feels this way. So I went on the Amazon message boards, certain that I would find some kindred souls. 4 ½ stars! 4 ½! For a romance novel I couldn’t finish! I was making so many “ugh” notes on my Kindle, my finger started cramping up.

Anyway, I’ll tell you what I know, which is Connor and Juliana meet at a real estate seminar, and sleep with each other. I guess the real estate atmosphere really put them in the mood. At any rate, they have some sex, it’s fine, he calls her the requisite “Red” nickname since she has red hair. It’s all very original and imaginative, I assure you. Then in the morning, Juliana leaves, and decides that after having no real formal training as a real estate agent, not only will she quit teaching special ed, she’s going to just go ahead and open up her own real estate agency in the middle of the tail end of the biggest recession in recent memory. Good job, Juliana!

All this is just so that she meets up with Connor on a job, and they end up forming a real estate agency together. At least this makes some sense as Connor is a real estate agent. And then this exchange happens after they decide working together is a good idea: “Good God, was he going along with the ruse? Or was it a ruse? Maybe this could really work. Only in a romance novel… But was she willing to give it a try.”

And this, friends, is where I stopped reading because it was just too stupid. I feel terrible about calling it stupid because someone put work into this, and I definitely appreciate that, but reading this book was like playing telephone. It’s like many years ago an author wrote a romance novel, and it was great, and then over the years people read it and retold it over and over forgetting the details and the magic and the color, and that’s what this book felt like to me. Hats off to the graphic designer though, the cover for this book is great!

Leave a Reply

