A Kiss for Midwinter, Courtney Milan

A Kiss for Midwinter, Courtney Milan

Ratings
Cheeseball rating: One cheeseball.
Authenticity of Spirit (or are these characters and situations believable): I found it both authentic and unique for the romance genre.
How hot is it:  Hot
Hero: Tall, handsome, scholarly… Speaks his mind in a frank manor that sometimes does him no favors.
Heroine: Likeable.

A tall, handsome, intelligent doctor not afraid to speak his mind…  A spirited, cheerful heroine with a dark secret in her past that only the doctor knows… These characters make for a fun read that is over much too soon. I wish Courtney Milan had saved these characters for a full-length novel rather than wasting them on a novella.  Our hero, Doctor Jonas Grantham, is not your usual romantic character.  He’s sarcastic and funny, and not afraid to speak bluntly of the most embarrassing medical matters. Lydia Charingford is endlessly cheerful, except for where Doctor Grantham is concerned.  He knows the worst about her, a mistake she made when she was 15 that would ruin her in anyone else’s eyes.  He has fallen in love with her, and spends a year trying to coax her into liking him, finally luring her into a Christmas wager.  I really like these characters!

So here’s the beef:

1.     Jonas Grantham is a unique hero who needs more page time! Milan does do a good job of filling out his character in so few pages, but his character could have made for a very interesting longer plot line.  What a waste! I love this guy!

2.     Lydia Charingford is likeable, as I’ve said, but her character isn’t given enough room to explore in this book.  She went through something pretty traumatic.  It should have been given more time and explored in more depth.

3.     This book is over in like 5 minutes. (Only a slight exaggeration.)

The story takes place in 1862, a time of a great medical awakening, at least compared to the regency novels that I usually read.  I was aware that French Letters were in use during this time, but according to the novel, women could also be fitted for a rubber cervical cap!  I honestly find this interesting. No joke. I love the everyday stuff in historical novels.  I want to know the details of how people lived. I love collecting this knowledge, these little pieces of mundane history.  Courtney Milan could have gone a lot further to feed us interesting tidbits of the medical practices of the 1860s. I want a full, chunky novel full of this stuff! (Yes, I’m a huge dork.)

I read this novella because I had read The Heiress Effect and really enjoyed it, and I wanted to read something I knew would be good.  It was good, but at the same time, so disappointing.

Leave a Reply

